Education Industry Reporter

Congratulations to the New NAICU Board!

Posted in Higher Education News

Dennis Cariello

On February 1, 2012, the members of the National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (NAICU) selected 14 new board directors and four new board officers for 2012-13. They were officially appointed on at the NAICU 2012 Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.  Members of NAICU’s board of directors set the association’s agenda on federal higher education policy; actively encourage support of NAICU priorities and initiatives; and oversee the association’s financial administration. Members serve three-year terms. Officers hold their positions for one year.

Congratulations to the new chairman, Dr. Nathan Hatch (President of Wake Forest University) and the entire board.  Board members are listed after the jump.
New NAICU Board Officers

Dr. Nathan O. Hatch, president of Wake Forest University in Winston-Salem, N.C., has been elected chair of the NAICU board of directors for 2012-13. Hatch, who has served in his role at Wake Forest since 2005, is an active leader in American higher education and in local and community affairs. He recently served on the board of the American Council on Education, and he is currently a member of the Division I Board of Directors of the NCAA. Vice chair of the NAICU board in 2011-12, Hatch succeeds Dr. Daniel J. Carey, president of Edgewood College in Madison, Wis., who remains on the board as immediate past chair.

Dr. Eileen B. Wilson-Oyelaran, president of Kalamazoo College in Kalamazoo, Mich., will serve as vice chair of the NAICU board of directors. She will assume the position of chair next year.

Dr. Elizabeth Kiss, president of Agnes Scott College in Decatur, Ga., has been named treasurer.

Dr. Dale T. Knobel, president of Denison University in Granville, Ohio, has been named secretary.

New NAICU Board Members

Eight new members were elected to three-year terms on the NAICU board, representing the association’s national regions:

Dr. Pamela Trotman Reid, President, Saint Joseph College, West Hartford, Conn.
Region I (Conn., Maine, Mass., N.H., R.I., Vt.)

Dr. Barbara-Jayne Lewthwaite, President, Centenary College, Hackettstown, N.J.
Region II (Del., D.C., Md., N.J., N.Y.)

Mr. William D. Huston, President, Saint Catharine College, St. Catharine, Ky.
Region III (Ky., Ohio, Pa., W.Va.)

Dr. Cleveland L. Sellers, Jr., President, Voorhees College, Denmark, S.C.
Region IV (Fla., Ga., N.C., S.C., Va.)

Dr. David L. Parkyn, President, North Park University, Chicago, Ill.
Region V (Ill., Ind., Mich., Wis.)

Dr. Forrest E. Harris, President, American Baptist College, Nashville, Tenn.
Region VI (Ala., Ark., La., Miss., Okla., Tenn., Texas)

Dr. David L. Sallee, President, William Jewell College, Liberty, Mo.
Region VII (Iowa, Kan., Minn., Mo., Neb., N.D., S.D.)

Dr. Gayle D. Beebe, President, Westmont College, Santa Barbara, Calif.
Region VIII (Alaska, Ariz., Calif., Colo., Hawaii, Idaho, Mont., N.M., Nev., Ore., Utah, Wash., Wyo.)

Four presidents have been named to three-year terms as at-large members of the board:

Dr. Pamela R. Fox, President, Mary Baldwin College, Staunton, Va.

Rev. Dennis H. Holtschneider, President, DePaul University, Chicago, Ill.

Mr. Marvin Krislov, President, Oberlin College, Oberlin, Ohio

Dr. John M. McCardell, Jr., Vice-Chancellor, Sewanee: The University of the South, Sewanee, Tenn.

A voting member of the National Association of Independent College and University State Executives will serve a three-year term:

Dr. Ed H. Moore, President, Independent Colleges and Universities of Florida, Tallahassee, Fla.

An ad-hoc, non-voting government relations person will also serve a three-year term:

Ms. Jennifer Grodsky, Executive Director of Federal Relations, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, Calif.